Foodie Friday: Al’s Cafe – Lost Springs, KS

For about 2 years the people of the Lost Springs community have been oh so

patiently waiting for this little family run Mexican restaurant to reopen its

doors and now….the wait is finally over. I visited this favorite eating spot

on opening day and man I gotta tell you was it a packed house! Scroll on

down to read more about this must visit little Mexican cafe located in a tiny Kansas town

most people have probably never even heard of.

.

.

.

………………………………..

Location: 101 Berry St, Lost Springs, KS 66859

Hours: 

Sunday-Tuesday: closed

Wednesday-Friday: 11am-9pm

Saturday: 11am-8pm

currently only accepting cash or check

Website

…………………………………

.

As I mentioned in the opening paragraph I visited this restaurant on opening

day with my family. We arrived a little before 4:00 trying to beat the

evening rush which we somehow managed to do and snagged us a nice

big table to fit all 10 of us (Al’s is seat yourself) without having to wait. 

.

Our waitress was at our table almost immediately getting our drink orders

and taking our chip orders as well. We went with a mix of corn and

flour chips, salsa, and of course their amazing cheese sauce. 

(Their flour chips with the cheese sauce is hands down one of my favorite things.)

.

I would literally put that cheese sauce on anything. It is so so sooooooo good.

.

Once my brother and his friends arrived we all put in our dinner orders.

Unfortunately, by this time in the evening they had run out of some things

(I heard they had people lined up outside the door about 30 minutes before

they even opened) so the menu was pretty limited, but I still got what

I came for and everyone else was able to find something they enjoyed as

well! Honestly hard to go wrong with anything on that menu (although I do

have to say their specials are probably their most popular dish so if you

aren’t sure what to get go with that!). 

.

I ordered the beef sancho smothered in cheese sauce.
#6 which is a sancho, taco, and a tostada with a side of rice
Taco Salad
Bean Burrito topped with chile verde and shredded cheese

.

Al’s also has their liquor license so you can enjoy some nice cold cervezas with your food!

I swear we aren’t alcoholics. lol

.

Here’s a look at their menu!

Image from Facebook
Image from Facebook

.

Al’s Cafe Stats:

Service: Amazing and super sweet 5/5 

Food:  Great! 5/5

Cleanliness/Decor: Loving the new look! 5/5

Price: $$

Overall Rating: 5/5

.

While some changes have been made to Al’s Cafe including the addition

of extra seating and decor updates (like this amazing neon sign)

the food, atmosphere, and service is still as exceptional as I remember

them to be. In fact that was the overall consensus of the table with everyone ranting

and raving about how delicious the food was, how it all tasted exactly as they

remembered it, and how happy they were to have this place opened once again.

And we certainly weren’t the only ones! I visited the restaurant a few days later and

it was still a packed house (so just be prepared as you might have to wait). Al’s might

be a little louder and busier now than it had been before, but I’m so glad

they stuck with their roots, kept it within the family, and of course

that the doors are open once more. I definitely plan on

making more trips back as you should too.

.

.

.

3 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Al’s Cafe – Lost Springs, KS

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑