Foodie Friday: 5 Loaves Country Kitchen – McPherson, KS

Attached to the bowling alley in McPherson, Kansas sits this restaurant

whose fried food is said to be pretty dang good. I visited this place with my

friend Justin (like of course) and we have some thoughts to share with y’all

on this bar turned restaurant. Scroll on down to read more!

.

.

………………………………..

Location: 900 W Kansas Ave, McPherson, KS 67460

Hours: 

Monday-Friday: 7am-9pm

Saturday: 6am-9pm

Sunday: 7am-2pm

Accepts cash/card

Website

…………………………………

.

We walked in through the front doors and were seated in a booth

by a nice young gentleman. Our waitress was at our table pretty quickly

to get our drink orders and give us menus to browse.

.

I was pretty surprised to see the assortment of food on the menu

which included your typical bar food, some fried chicken

dinners, steaks, and even seafood.

.

.

Justin and I decided to get an appetizer of fried green beans which

is something I never had before, but would highly recommend.

These fried green beans were the bomb diggity. Like no joke. I could

eat just these for a meal. They tasted like chicken strips and both

Justin and I couldn’t get enough of them. 

.

.

Next we put in our main food orders. 

.

Both of our meals came with a house salad which to be honest we

thought was a little pathetic. Lol It didn’t taste bad there just

really wasn’t much to it. (Probably should have put it in a smaller bowl. lol)

.

.

For his main dish Justin ordered the jambalaya pasta

Justin was nice enough to let me try a couple bites of this and y’all it was sooo good! There definitely is a little bit of a kick to it, but that’s Cajun food for ya. Lol And the shrimp in this dish were big!

.

And I ordered the chicken fried chicken dinner with mashed potatoes and corn.

.

The chicken fried chicken and mashed potatoes were great although the corn left a lot to be desired. I think I took one bite of it and decided that was enough for me. Lol

.

For dessert I ordered the lemon meringue pie. I wanted the

apple pie, but it was still frozen soooo I suppose this had to do cause I WAS getting pie. Lol

.

I would have liked a little more crust on this pie and a little less meringue, but other than that this pie was pretty good, especially considering it was my first time trying lemon meringue pie.

.

Justin’s rating: 9/10

Overall Justin gave this place a pretty high rating saying all the

food was really good. However, it was the salad that

knocked the rating down from 10/10.

.

5 Loaves Country Kitchen Stats:

Service: 4/5 

Food:  4/5

Cleanliness/Decor: 3/5

Price: $$

Overall Rating: 3.7/5

.

Overall I have to say the food we got at 5 Loaves was actually pretty dang

delicious (minus my corn) and the portions were pretty good sized.

(Both Justin and I left with to go boxes!) Oh and I seriously need that

fried green bean recipe! The service here was also pretty good. However, I

did have to knock it a little on the cleanliness/decor because the

interior (much like The Scheme) was a little miss-matched as it tried to decide

whether it wanted to be a sports bar, bowling alley, or a fancy

restaurant. It also was pretty dark inside and my shoes were sticking to the floor

which I did not appreciate.

.

.

.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑